Dog Days Forever: A Novel (Paperback)

Dog Days Forever: A Novel By Shannon Richard Cover Image

Dog Days Forever: A Novel (Paperback)

$18.99


Usually Ships in 3-5 Days

A heartfelt, romantic novel inspired by Sweet Home Alabama and perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis, Kristan Higgins, and Susan Mallery, in which a young woman who only fosters dogs discovers an abandoned puppy and finally starts to open herself up to love again…

Once inseparable as children and romantically entwined as young adults, Caroline Buchanan and Maximillian Abbot are now virtual strangers. It might be Caro’s fault—considering she abruptly ended their engagement—but she had good reasons. After their devastating breakup, she stayed in North Carolina, building a quiet, cozy life, while Max went to New York City. In the fourteen years since, Caro has experienced more than her share of heartache and loss. She rarely lets anyone in, not even the steady stream of rescue dogs she fosters.

When Max returns to town for the summer at the behest of his grandmother, Caro must finally face their past because she keeps running into Max, and old feelings come rushing back. Shortly after Max arrives, Caro finds a puppy, alone and shivering in a thunderstorm. She takes the dog in, planning to find her the perfect new family. But at a time when her life is in turmoil, this new furry friend—who she names Frankie—unexpectedly becomes her anchor.

As she opens her heart to the sweet, cuddly canine, Caro begins to wonder if she could love Max again, too. Max and Frankie feel like home and she can’t bear to say goodbye to either of them. But secrets, both old and new, are still lingering and Max hasn’t completely forgiven her for breaking his heart all those years ago. Will this be a summer of second chances or are they bound to make the same mistakes twice?

Shannon Richard lives in Tallahassee, FL with her adorable rescue dog Teddy—not that she's biased or anything. She enjoys experimenting with a new recipe in the kitchen or perfecting an old one. It’s typically done with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc in hand. She has no shame for the amount of reality T.V. she indulges in, listens to entirely too many podcasts, and is now a plant lady.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063235618
ISBN-10: 0063235617
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: February 28th, 2023
Pages: 384
Language: English

“Heartwarming and endearing, Richard spins a well-told story filled with love and healing.” — Lori Wilde, New York Times bestselling author of The Wedding at Moonglow Bay

"Reading Shannon Richard is pure pleasure!" — Jill Shalvis, New York Times bestselling author

"charming second-chance romance...Richard does a fine job showing how past regrets can color a life and pushes the message that it’s never too late. Caro and Max make a thoroughly believable couple and the brisk plot keeps pages turning. Small-town romance lovers should snap this up." — Publishers Weekly

"Richard delivers small-town, Southern atmosphere in this story with some sexy scenes and vulnerable characters, who readers can easily champion as they grapple with larger issues such as the death of a parent." — Library Journal

Dog Days Forever is a heartfelt, emotional roller coaster. Richard masterfully steers Max and Caro through ups and downs, leaving readers with tear-filled eyes and hope that endures.” — Jessica Lemmon, bestselling author