The Handyman Method: A Story of Terror (Paperback)

The Handyman Method: A Story of Terror By Nick Cutter, Andrew F. Sullivan Cover Image

The Handyman Method: A Story of Terror (Paperback)

$17.99


Usually Ships in 3-5 Days
A chilling domestic story of terror for fans of Black Mirror and The Amityville Horror.

When a young family moves into an unfinished development community, cracks begin to emerge in both their new residence and their lives, as a mysterious online DIY instructor delivers dark subliminal suggestions about how to handle any problem around the house. The trials of home improvement, destructive insecurities, and haunted house horror all collide in this thrilling story perfect for fans of Nick Cutter’s bestsellers The Troop and The Deep.
Nick Cutter is the author of the critically acclaimed national bestseller The Troop (which is currently being developed for film with producer James Wan), The DeepLittle Heaven, and The Handyman Method, cowritten with Andrew F. Sullivan. Nick Cutter is the pseudonym for Craig Davidson, whose much-lauded literary fiction includes Rust and BoneThe Saturday Night Ghost Club, and, most recently, the short story collection Cascade. His story “Medium Tough” was selected by author Jennifer Egan for The Best American Short Stories 2014. He lives in Toronto, Canada.

Andrew F. Sullivan is the author of the novel The Marigold. His short story collection All We Want is Everything and his debut novel Waste were both named Best Books of the Year by The Globe and Mail (Toronto). He lives in Hamilton, Ontario.
Product Details ISBN: 9781982196714
ISBN-10: 1982196718
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: August 8th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English
“Nightmare territory…Often terrifying, consistently unsettling, and dripping with mounting dread, Cutter and Sullivan have created a modern masterpiece.” —Richard Chizmar, New York Times bestselling author of Chasing the Boogeyman

"The Handyman Method is a window into our deepest fears via strange and insidious how-to videos. Cutter and Sullivan have created a hallucinatory, chilling read that raises its level of dread and tension with each turn of the page...horrifying." —Gus Moreno, acclaimed author of This Thing Between Us

“Gruesome and grisly…The Handyman Method tears out of the gates and doesn’t let up much as things go from bad to worse to somehow worse…The pace is relentless…The vibe throughout is one of unsettling, mounting dread that rarely falters….horror fans are sure to appreciate [the novel’s] subtle nods to classics of the genre, as well as the direction Cutter and Sullivan take their dark tale of home improvement gone horribly awry.” Winnipeg Free Press

“A horror tale designed to scare the dickens out of the reader.” New York Journal of Books

“Dark, brutal, and deeply unsettling….This is a terrific horror novel, with a spellbinding story full of surprises and superb writing that is vivid, visceral, and, at times, darkly beautiful. The ending is gloriously, thrillingly shocking. For horror fans, it’s a must-read.” Booklist

“A brutal yet modern twist on the haunted-house story….Full of moments…that will burrow under readers’ skin.” Library Journal

"Deeply disturbing...[a] gripping tale, well-written modern horror...Cutter and Sullivan never fail to miss an opportunity to chill and repulse simultaneously....a near-classic chiller that you won’t soon forget." Bookreporter

“For readers simply looking for a hard-to-put-down supernatural horror novel, The Handyman Method is an excellent pick. An unconventional haunted house story...with visceral imagery. A must-read.” —Horror Geek Life

"Unrelentingly brutal…An acid-tripping horror version of the classic sitcom Home Improvement.” Grimdark Magazine

“Surreal and disturbing…a diabolical tale of toxic masculinity gone awry…a collaborative triumph.” —CrimeReads